Nov 1 - Geezer's Blog - National Deep Fried Clams Day

The Bottom Line: Quick facts about clams!

The Full Story:

  • Freshwater clams can live inside an aquarium.
  • Clams don’t have a brain
  • The three main types of clams are soft-shelled, hard clams, and surf clams.
  • Clams are classified as a mollusk.
  • There are over 15,000 species of clams…and of those, there are over 150 edible species.
  • “Steamers” are soft shell clams.
  • Clams live in the sand upside down.
  • The Giant clam can weigh more than 400-pounds and live for over 150 years.
  • There are many types of regional clam chowder recipes: Manhattan Clam Chowder, New England Clam Chowder, Rhode Island Clam Chowder, San Francisco New England Clam Chowder.
  • If a clam doesn't open while cooking, it means it died before purchasing and shouldn't be eaten.
National Deep Fried Clams Day


Content Goes Here