The North Star Community Credit Union Cone Zone Report

Grab The Minot Traffic Impact App HERE

City Of Minot

Seat belts save lives.

They are the single most effective safety device to prevent death and injury in a motor vehicle crash. Seat belts restrain occupants in the vehicle’s designed protective space, giving them room to live in the event of a crash and prevents them from colliding with other occupants in the vehicle. A seat belt also keeps the driver correctly positioned behind the wheel to help maintain control of a vehicle. The failure to wear a seat belt results in more motor vehicle fatalities in North Dakota than most other factors.

Primary Seat Belt Law

  • All front seat and back seat occupants must be buckled up regardless of age.
  • Children younger than 8 years of age are required to ride in a child restraint (car seat or booster seat).
  • A correctly used seat belt may be substituted for children younger than 8 years of age who are at least 4'9" tall.

Learn more about North Dakota's Primary Seat Belt Law here

 

Current North Dakota Policy for Young Drivers:

  • Learner's Permit
    • At least 14 years old.
    • The holding period is 6 to 12 months. For example, a driver that starts the process at age 15 years old and 6 months only holds the permit for 6 months. In contrast, a driver that starts the process at 14 years old will hold the permit for 12 months.
    • Driver education is required if under age 16.
    • Minimum of 50 hours of supervised practice.
    • Must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least age 18.
  • Intermediate License
    • The holding period is up to 12 months (until teen reaches 16 years old). For example, a driver who receives their intermediate license at 15 holds it until they reach 16 years old. In contrast, a driver who receives their intermediate license at 15 years and 11 months will only hold it for 1 month.
    • Night driving restricted between 9 p.m. or sunset, whichever is later, and 5 a.m. for 6 months (with exceptions).
    • No policy on number of teen passengers.
    • No cell phone use.
    • No requirement to remain crash or conviction free.
  • Standard License
    • Minimum age of 16.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content